Where am I Needed?

Lifestyle

Last week was a week from Heaven. It’s taken me so long to get back to writing because my inspiration bucket is overflowing and I needed some time to organize all the thoughts.

In a nutshell; I quit my job at the architecture company in order to pursue photography full time. (Huge but great decision)! In order to do that, I’ve started a job as a barista at Gregory’s coffee so that I could have a flexible schedule. In the decision of all this change, I was commissioned by my school in Alabama, Judson College to travel and take pictures for their website and promotional materials; a two and a half day photo shoot. It was an honor to be there and work along side my friend, Mary Amelia. We spent a lot of time together, which I documented on my photography blog.

I felt burdened and inspired to find a place in this world where I can help. There are so many opportunities in Marion where people could help and make it a habitable place but there lacks consistency and resources. I want to educate myself in life skills and experience where I can plug into a community. I feel so invigorated with this next, fresh start of quitting my job where I feel free to learn how to be a barista and also reevaluate my life and ask God where I should go. 

While in the small town of Marion, Alabama I was inspired to find a place where I am needed and where my skills can be used for people’s good and inspiration. I don’t think that I’m meant to live in a small town but it’s easy to see opportunities to serve where talent and resources are fewer. This got me thinking more about ways I can serve and utilize my talents in New York. There are so many people here with incredible talent so it’s overwhelming to see myself as one-of-a-kind. However, I firmly believe that we are all unique even though we fall under the same big categories such as photographer, writer, barista, etc.

An idea that I keep reminding myself and what I want to share with others is that no one has my same vision or voice. I can’t discount that being myself is my greatest asset. Sounds so cheesy but it’s so true.

I’m trying hard to be creative with my creativity. I just inquired with The Webster Apartments, where I live to see if I could work together with them to provide interviews of “The Webster Woman.” It’s a project that I personally would want to do and I know it would increase reading and promotion on their blog. Keeping fingers crossed for this partnership to work out.

It takes a lot of work and imagination to find our place especially when we just want a simple job description to define us. But I believe, through lots of prayer, reflection and motivation, I think that we will find where we need to be one step at a time. For now, I’m thrilled to be back in this amazing city that’s full of possibilities yet to be discovered. I really want to be a traveling photographer. I don’t know but living in New York feels so right. It feels “righter” than ever before. God has just peaked the feelings that I have for this city, my calling, my standing with him. I feel so right with Him that I am his daughter, I’m following his will. I don’t know what’s next but I’m so excited that He does. I believe I’m living the verse, “trust in the lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make straight your paths.” In every step of the way, I feel led by him.

2 thoughts on “Where am I Needed?

Leave a Reply

