The Piano Tuner

Lifestyle

A video called Borderline Religious I found on The Paris Review makes me want to be a photojournalist and create documentaries. Have I said that before? I feel like it’s been a long time that I’ve thought this but I don’t think I’ve ever said it.There you have it. Today especially, I feel like it’s been confirmed in my heart, mind, soul, small intestine, whatever you want to call it, that I am going to be that.

Back to the point – This video shares a unique and beautiful story and makes me remember the piano tuner that came to my house when I was younger.

I’ve never really articulated this memory until now but I love this experience. One time a blind piano tuner came to my house. He was arrived by a small white bus and came through the door with his tall white cane. I felt invisible to him but of course he knew I was there. I watched him tune our upright. Once he was finished with the hammering and tightening, he played the most beautiful song. I listened and was pleasantly surprised by how one would test their work; of course he would play the perfect song to hear his completed job well done. I like to believe that it required him to use every single note he tuned. As he sat on our couch waiting for his ride to come back for him, he checked the time on his braille watch. This is yet another thing, I found amazing; one could check the time with their fingers. Years later, I’m struck with what he left me; an accurately sounding instrument and a lasting memory.

But don’t let my story distract you, scroll back up and watch the documentary.

Leave a Reply

