Dancing Again

Lifestyle, New York

On Friday night, I finally felt comfortable and motivated enough to venture out to find a dance studio. It was warm enough and not to far to walk. The one other time I went swing dancing, someone referred me to the group F’N Blues (Friday Night Blues) so I went up to the 9th floor of a building on 26th Street and entered into a beautiful ballroom studio.

I thought I was there for blues night and didn’t realize that I had actually signed up for a ballroom fusion night at Stepping Out Studios. I found out later that the blues dancing was right next door. Oops. It’s a good thing I knew ballroom too, I guess!

Since I hadn’t been dancing for so long, blues would have been a more forgiving dance to come back to. One partner insinuated, in so many words that my rusty dancing is forgivable on the account that at least I was pretty. Ha. Thanks?

Oh well. I got to dance my heart out to the hustle, bachata, salsa, rumba, cha-cha, swing, waltz and the quickstep. I can’t believe I know all of those dances. But don’t be fooled, this is a classic example of being a jack of all trades and master of absolutely none. I have much improvement to make on all.

Regardless of skill it is always so healing to dance. Music is so powerful. I felt a little sad and reminiscent of past partners in Minneapolis. The slow rumba seemed to embody the feeling from the song, “It’ll all get better in time.” Perhaps speaking to my dancing skills but also the hope of meeting a new community of New York dancers.

Our swing dance to “Happy” made me feel so grateful for all my past dance friends and partners, knowing they’ve helped make me the dancer that I am. I also felt very, obviously happy I went. It’s amazing how music guides the body to express so many wonderful feelings. Dancing is the best.

3 thoughts on “Dancing Again

Leave a Reply

