Accomplishing Missions

Lifestyle, New York

At the beginning of this month, I made a huge list of things I wanted to accomplish in January. With the exception of one thing, I’ll be checking all of them off by tomorrow. The last item is one of my biggest goals yet that I can’t wait to share with you. The exception goal is embarrassingly, the Social Endeavor podcast *embarrassed/cringey face.*

The podcast is still in my thoughts and will be resurrected soon. I am working very hard on another aspect of my creative endeavors and with the podcasts I’ve been listening to, focusing on one thing at a time seems to be a successful theme.

What I really wanted to talk about today was the goal I crossed off last night; set up one coffee date with a photographer in hopes of networking and building a supportive artist community. I want to share with you Tonhya Kae Photography. Check out her beautiful work here.

It was so encouraging and refreshing to talk with someone who share a similar artist passion. Tonhya is so talented and it was awesome to hear about her creative side and a little bit about her business strategy since being a photographer requires both. I was a little tempted to see how far she is in her career and how far I have yet to go. But by talking to someone who I admire from a far, I was able to see how we both struggle and succeed in similar ways at our varying levels. this made me realize how important it is to have a supportive community. No one has it all together, even if it looks like they do. No one really should have it together, right? That would mean that we’ve decided to stop growing/learning/improving.

If you could have a coffee date with anyone who you admire, who would it be? What is stopping you from making that happen?

3 thoughts on “Accomplishing Missions

  1. So awesome, probably one of the coolest opportunities you have, just by virtue of being in NYC 🙂

    Also, there’s a girl who apparently graduated with me (I didn’t know her) who blogs about her life in New York and now I want to make you two friends except I feel like that would be super weird.

    Like

Leave a Reply

