You could be a really great…

Lifestyle

One thing you must know about me is that I, unashamedly live by the movie; 500 Days of Summer. Many life lessons can be gleaned from the story and a line from this scene came to mind recently.

When I saw it for the first time, truthfully I hated it. But my love for it started with my one and only breakup three long years ago. As a distraction from crying all the tears, I found this gem among my roommates DVD collection. As scene after scene flipped back and forth, I couldn’t believe how true those feeling were for me. Now that I had breakup experience, I could suddenly relate. Sometimes I felt like Summer, as she stayed in a relationship that she didn’t really feel committed to and then I felt like Tom with the up and down emotions of a confusing relationship. (Funny how they showed a guy with that struggle.Guys have feelings too, Hollywood. Thank you!)

Aside from the relationship aspect, the movie has a couple of life truths that I draw from as well, which is why it is always a go-to movie. The line that came to me recently was towards the end of the movie when Summer is having a rooftop party and she introduces Tom to one of her friends. She say’s “Tom could be a really great architect if he wanted to be.”

This struck me and I pondered; what could I be really good at if I wanted to be? In other words, what is the thing that I’m good at but am preventing myself from pursuing.

Right now I am working very hard towards that thing that I know “I could be really good at if I wanted to be.” It is totally easier said than done and is sometimes frustrating to be wondering if that thing is worth my time. But the more I think about it, the more I’m convinced that it will be more worth it to try than to always be wondering in the end.

Leave a Reply

