September Sketch Project: In Conclusion

Sketch A Day

Well, if you’ve been following along with my sketch-a-day project, you may or may not have noticed that I have abruptly concluded this series. This has seemed to be a pattern as of late for me; to just cease whatever creative habit I got myself into.

Like this summer, I made banana muffins re-lig-ous-ly, week after week, every Sunday. And every time I would go to the store, I would buy two yellow and two green bananas so that the ripness would be right when I was ready. Now, I simply pass on by. Tragic. What I loved for WEEKS, I just stopped. It wasn’t even a decision I thought, like oh I should cut back on the banana bread (who would ever think that, anyways?) But I just didn’t want to do it anymore. And that was ok.

That’s what happened to sketching. And again, I’m at peace with that. However, I will point out that the last drawing I did was of the Brooklyn Bridge, which has re-sparked a fire in me to once again, chase after my dream job. Between a conversation with my boss and a relentless and somewhat subconcious pursuit of New York, I’ve decided to jump back on the moving-to-New-York bandwagon. For the rest of this month and all of October, I plan to apply for a job there or here everyday. As proof, I’ll share a list of all the ones I’ve attempted later….

So there you have it – the debrief of a great project that wasn’t complete but landed me a new motivation in my life. I feel like it is very timely as I am about to turn 25 years old. This seems like a monumental moment in life for me. I just feel like something great is going to happen. Say a little prayer for me that God will be so kind and give me a new adventure to pour myself into even if it’s just little sketch project.

I’ll leave you with a video by a photographer that I am enthralled with, Jordan Matter. He shoots the series Dancers Among Us. He did a documentary type video of a recent photoshoot. His encouragement was to simply chase the light and you will find it as a pursuit of serendipity.

Leave a Reply

